Google TOC
Make This My Homepage
A   A   A

Daviess, Pike & Vigo Counties Exceeding New EPA Standard

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency says parts of Daviess, Pike, Vigo, Marion and Morgan counties don't meet a new federal standard for the pollutant that causes acid rain.

Federal officials blame older, coal fired power plants for high levels of sulfur dioxide.

Sulfur dioxide contributes to the formation of acid rain that damages lakes, streams and forest ecosystems and worsens people's breathing problems.

Regulators have given Indiana 18 months to draft a plan detailing how the areas intend to come into compliance with the standard within five years.

Filed Under :  
Topics : Environment
Social :
Locations : DaviessIndianaPikeVigo
People : MarionMorgan